Geography and History according to my 4 year old

My daughter, like all 4 year-olds, says very silly things. She has very interesting ideas about things like history, geography and so on.

Recently, we were looking at a map, and I showed her where Japan is, since her grandparents live there. Then I showed her Korea, because one of our friends is from Korea, and my daughter likes to call her imo (이모) or “auntie”. My daughter then noticed that Korea and Japan were right next to each other. She asked me if you can walk to Korea from Japan, so I told her that there was water in between, so you couldn’t just walk over. She stated that we could push over a tree and use it like a bridge:

A Bridge over Korean Strait

I drew that in about 3 minutes, but it helps explain her plan to fix the transportation issue between Korea and Japan. 🙂

Also, she is really fascinated by Vikings lately. We watched a TV show about the extinct Viking colony at Newfoundland, and since then she’s convinced that Vikings still live in Scandinavia, and that they’re real tough guys. They’re the toughest guys she can think of. Tougher than pirates or ninjas Anyhow, I tried to explain that Vikings are not around anymore, so she replied that the reason was because the Vikings quit, said sorry, and gave everyone flowers:

Vikings Say Sorry

If only life were that simple. 🙂

P.S. More silly musings by my 4 year old.

Author: Doug

A fellow who dwells upon the Pale Blue Dot who spends his days obsessing over things like Buddhism, KPop music, foreign languages, BSD UNIX and science fiction.

6 thoughts on “Geography and History according to my 4 year old”

Leave a Reply

