Make Your Own Incense Holder for Cheap

Make your own incense holder with baking soda and Tupperware.

I learned this simple trick from a nice Japanese family recently while my family had dinner at their house. Previously, I have tried to make incense holders at home because good store-bought ones are hard to find, or too long or too big to fit the nook in my bookshelf. For example, I tried to make a homemade one filled with salt or popcorn, but the incense sticks just fell over.

So what’s the trick? Baking soda in a small bowl (or Tupperware in my case).

The baking soda is super cheap and works surprisingly well because it is heavy and naturally clumps. I also like how it keeps the incense stumps in there like real temples do. 🙂 Plus the whole thing fits well into the little nook we use for a Buddhist altar. If you use half a stick of incense like I do, it also keeps the altar from getting too smoky.

Something for Buddhists on a budget to try at home. Let me know if it works!

P.S. Another bit of advice: do not light incense when you have a cold! It just makes things worse.

Author: Doug

A fellow who dwells upon the Pale Blue Dot who spends his days obsessing over things like Buddhism, KPop music, foreign languages, BSD UNIX and science fiction.

7 thoughts on “Make Your Own Incense Holder for Cheap”

  1. hm interesting I just got into using incense and I really enjoy it 🙂 I have a holder for the sticks but some of the sticks are too big for it and I would really like to burn in my room so this might work I’ll give it a try!

    Like

Leave a Reply

