Sleepy

Sleepy

This is me after flying 10 hours from Seattle to Japan, while riding the Narita Express for another 2 hours. I drank Red Bull, Coffee and Coke but it didn’t help. I was just too tired by then. I took a video too (part of my experiment in video-blogging) but I probably won’t be able to process it until I get back. We’ll see. I was tired and mumbling in the video, so it may not be very interesting. πŸ™‚

Interesting, I talked with my Grandpa on the phone recently (for Christmas). He had served in the US Navy between World War II and the Korean War and was based at Iwakuni in Yamaguchi Prefecture. Anyhow, he told me that in those days if you wanted to fly from Seattle to Japan you had to fly to Los Angeles first, then Hawaii, then Kwajalein Atoll, then Saipan, then Japan. Each hop was probably 10-12 hours in a small propeller plane, not the Boeing 747’s of today. So the trip probably took a week, not a day, and each day as like one day for me. :p

I guess I shouldn’t complain so much. πŸ™‚

Author: Doug

A fellow who dwells upon the Pale Blue Dot who spends his days obsessing over things like Buddhism, KPop music, foreign languages, BSD UNIX and science fiction.

2 thoughts on “Sleepy”

  1. This photo made me grin. Oh, I know the feeling! (It takes 24 hours from Japan to South Africa, with at least one transfer.) I hope you’re sleeping as I write this, and have recovered from the jet lag by tomorrow. Can’t sleep too long, though, especially if you happen to have any ε€§ζŽƒι™€ responsibilities! πŸ˜‰

    Like

    1. Hi Rurosha,

      Wow 24 hours to Japan…that’s painful. As for me, the jetlag has worn off faster than in the past, but I think some preparation helped (adjust schedule in my life prior to leaving). πŸ™‚ Thanks for the well-wishes!

      Like

Leave a Reply

