JLPT Care Package!

Having recently taken (and passed) the JLPT N2, I was very happy to receive a cars package from a certain reader. The package contained special-edition Kit-Kat candy from Japan:

Kit-Kat from Japan

Notice the Mos Burger logo in the upper right, too. These are the candy inside:

Kit-Kat from Japan

Kit-Kat is an American candy but they’re pretty popular in Japan and taste better I think because of the better quality ingredients ( no high-fructose corn syrup for example ). But also as the kind benefactor explained to me, there’s an inside joke too.

Kit-Kat is pronounced kitto katto (キットカット) in Japanese which sounds close to the words kitto katsu (きっと勝つ) meaning “probably/surely will win”, so they’re given as gifts to people taking entrance exams and such. Given my tribulations with the JLPT that’s the person in question sent to them to me: wish me luck on the exam. 🙂

It was a touching gift and lasted about 30 seconds between my wife, daughter and I. 😉

Thank you!

Author: Doug

A fellow who dwells upon the Pale Blue Dot who spends his days obsessing over things like Buddhism, KPop music, foreign languages, BSD UNIX and science fiction.

7 thoughts on “JLPT Care Package!”

  1. When I saw the photo, I thought for a crazy moment they’d actually gone and done it: they’d made a hamburger-tasting KitKat. I’m relieved to see it’s just ordinary chocolate. Cute package! ^^

    Like

  2. Hello everyone,

    littlewonder2 Welcome to the JKLLR. Thanks for the kinds words. I noticed from your profile and such you’re interested in learning Japanese. Have you looked into Tae Kim’s excellent website, and AJATT’s website? I highly recommend both, and yes it’s quite possible to get good at Japanese even if you don’t live there. In fact, you should get good at it before going. Makes the trip more fun. 🙂

    Rurousha Ha ha ha, I actually kind of thought the same thing. The Mos Burger/Kit-Kat connection was an awesome collaboration, I think. You know, I have tried “chocolate” burgers sold at the local Japanese import store. They’re sesame flavored or something and bite-sized but really good. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

