Beginner Buddhism: Lesson One

Hi all,

Recently I’ve been working on a side-project that was inspired by some great education videos I’ve seen online. I don’t have a lot of interesting things to teach or offer, I am not an expert on anything in particular, but I’ve always wanted to find some way to teach basic Buddhism to people.1 I had hoped to do this in the past as a priest, but I wasn’t able to follow through on getting ordained for a variety of reasons.

So, lately I thought: why not just make a series of videos?

Bear in mind I’ve never made a video before for Youtube. :p

Looking back, I need to work on my editing skills, and my speaking skills. I think Lesson Two (coming soon) came out better.

Anyhow, hope people find this useful. 🙂

1 I have a half-finished book on my computer which maybe I’ll finish one of these days. I admit I spent a lot more time studying language lately, but it would be nice to finish this project someday. :p

Author: Doug

A fellow who dwells upon the Pale Blue Dot who spends his days obsessing over things like Buddhism, KPop music, foreign languages, BSD UNIX and science fiction.

8 thoughts on “Beginner Buddhism: Lesson One”

  1. *gassho* What a great idea! You should focus less on whether you are qualified or not and more on just doing what you like to do; ie talk about dharma, and I guess you just did 🙂 Of course you are as qualified talking about buddhism as any layman can be.

    Productionwise, the volume was a bit low and it was hard to hear you at times. I guess the quality will improve with time. Good luck, I’m looking forward to the next episode.

    Like

    1. Hi Jeremias, thanks for the encouragement. I still wish I had more formal training in Buddhism though as it helps with a lot of things. I may explore ordination again in the future, but right now it’s just difficult to do between work and family. I have plenty of time.

      As for the feedback, thanks a lot. The sound was weird in the first video, I am not sure what i did wrong. I think it will sound better in the next video. Stay tuned. 🙂

      Like

  2. This is a great idea! I’m looking forward to the one on making an altar. I’m wondering though, will you be taking this from a Pure Land point-of-view, or a more general one? Also, will you be covering various denominations/schools at all?

    Like

    1. Good questions. I planned on being as general as possible but I admit I was think about having a one-off lesson on Pure Land Buddhism. Probably one or two on Mahayana Buddhism as well.

      Suggestions are certainly encouraged.

      Like

Leave a Reply

