KPop Saturdays: MissA “I Don’t Need A Man”

Until now, MissA is not a group I had much interest in, but for some reason I really liked this song and video:

I think this is a really balanced video and song. It’s cool, the dance moves are great (3:38 Jia does a really nice trick), the girls are hot without overdoing it,1 plus the the video is also kind of light-hearted and don’t take itself too seriously. I really, genuinely liked it. I’ve seen other MissA songs like “Bad Girl, Good Girl” and they were pretty good, but I think this is their best song yet. I’m always happy to see when young groups mature and find their “sound”. It’s also notable that two members, Fei and Jia, are Chinese, not Korean. I like the fact that KPop groups can draw talent from other ethnic groups too (another example is 2PM’s “Nick” who is a favorite of a friend of mine. πŸ˜‰ ).

Anyhow, what about Korean text in the beginning (three scenes)? I did a bit of research, using my (very) amateur Korean skills and in the first scene, I think it says:

μ‰½κ²Œ 돈 λ²„λŠ” 것이 싫은
suipge don peoneun geosi shileun

(I) hate making money easily

While the second scene says:

λ‚¨μž 돈으둜 즐기며 μ‚¬λŠ” 것이 싫은
Namja doneuro jeulgimyeo saneun geosi shileun

(I) hate buying things with a man’s money while enjoying myself.

And in the third scene it says:2

λΆ€λͺ¨λ‹˜ 돈으둜 즐기며 μ‚¬λŠ” 것이 싫은
bumonim doneuro jeulgimyeo saneun geosi shileun

(I) hate buying things with (my) parents’ money while enjoying myself.

And in the fourth, final scene:

μžμ‘΄μ‹¬ μžˆλŠ” μ—¬μžλ“€μ—κ²Œ λ°”μΉ©λ‹ˆλ‹€
jajonshim issneun yeojadeulege bachimnida

Dedicated to having self-respect for girls.

Knowing this kind of helps change the tone of the song too. It’s not just another “diva” video, but kind asserts a woman’s right (and privilege) to make her own money and not have to depend on others.

Cool stuff. Anyhow, enjoy!

P.S. If you really want to see the ultimate diva song/video though, 2NE1’s “I Am The Best” can’t be beat. Bam Ratatata Tatatatata

1 I think another JYP group, Wonder Girls, also is good at making this balance. For comparison, I chose not to review Hyuna’s “Ice Cream” even though it has Psy in it. I just thought she was overdoing the sex-appeal a bit too much, even though she is overall a good artist. It was tempting though, because it was funny to see the role-reversal though, since Hyuna was in Psy’s Gangnam Style. πŸ˜›

2 On the pile of money, you can see JYP’s face. He appears in one way or another in almost all his music videos. You can see him as the “surgeon” in Wonder Girls’ Like Money for example. And of course, he was one of the stars in the classic song “Itaewon Freedom“.

Author: Doug

A fellow who dwells upon the Pale Blue Dot who spends his days obsessing over things like Buddhism, KPop music, foreign languages, BSD UNIX and science fiction.

4 thoughts on “KPop Saturdays: MissA “I Don’t Need A Man””

  1. I’m not really referring to any particular video–it’s just a K-pop band with which I am familiar. I thought the Volume Up video was pretty good–good costumes, non-sparkly sexy vampires, 80’s-esque saxaphone solo; the video made me feel like somebody in Korea took a look at Britney Spears videos and decided that the production values were too amateurish.

    Like

    1. I had a feeling you might mention the Volume Up video. I think it was good, I agree. I just didn’t interpret it as a “diva” video per se.

      I laughed hard over your “Britney Spears” comment. πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

