Wisdom From The Ancient Romans

Cicero - Musei Capitolini

Hi all,

As readers might remember, I’ve studying Latin on the side. I don’t study as much as I study Japanese/Korean, but I still regularly study and practice.

For study, I’ve been using the classic (no pun intended) textbook by Wheelock, currently the 7th edition. Of all the books I’ve used, it’s still the best one. Each chapter has some example sentences to read from famous Romans such as Cicero, Seneca, Horace, etc. Sometimes the sentences are modified a little, to make it easier to read, but some sentences are verbatim.

So, I wanted to post some of the verbatim sentences that contained useful wisdom (sapientia in Latin) and advice (consilium) for you. Enjoy!

  • Philosophia est ars vītae – “Philosophia is the art of life”, Cicero
  • Nūlla avāritia sine poenā est – “There is no greed without money”, Seneca
  • Sēcrētē amīcōs admonē; laudā palam – “Admonish your friends in secret, praise them openly”, Publilius Syrus
  • Fortūna paeca est – “Fortune is blind”, Cicero

These are just basic sentences, so I will post more later as I work through the textbook. Enjoy!

Author: Doug

A fellow who dwells upon the Pale Blue Dot who spends his days obsessing over things like Buddhism, KPop music, foreign languages, BSD UNIX and science fiction.

5 thoughts on “Wisdom From The Ancient Romans”

  1. Given your religion, I am surprised it wasn’t Sanskrit or Pali. Beside, wouldn’t you be more comfortable studying a foreign language if you had to learn a different alphabet? Why are you messing around with Latin when you could be studying Greek?

    Like

    1. Ha ha ha. Believe it or not, I wasn’t always a “rice lover” as a friend of mine calls me. There was a long time in my life when I was interested in Ancient Near East culture. The Roman Empire was my favorite. I studied Latin a little back then before getting into Buddhism and all that.

      I have tried to learn Ancient Greek a tiny bit but I just couldn’t wrap my head around the alphabet. Ironic, huh?

      I just found Latin and Roman culture more interesting than Greek anyway. I also like how it’s still applicable today. Once you study even a little, you’d be amazed. 😉

      P.S. I never really learned Pali or Sanskrit other than a very brief intro. Just never interested me.

      Like

Leave a Reply

