Quitting Coffee, again

Tea Collection

Once again, I am trying to quit coffee, especially espresso drinks. There are two reasons for this:

  • Espresso drinks cost a lot of money. Making coffee at home is still somewhat expensive because of beans, creamer, filters, etc.
  • Health reasons. Although caffeine is safe, being dependent on it affects my sleep, which indirectly affects a lot of other things. Also, if I don’t drink black coffee, the extra calories don’t help.

Fortunately, I have my wife to help me this time. My wife is interested in Chinese medicine and alternative methods, and she gets very cold in winter (I don’t), and one suggestion was that coffee in particular makes the body cold. So, she quit cold-turkey. No headaches or anything. To be fair, she drinks a lot less coffee than I do overall. So, when I quit, the headaches were terrible. But I took some headache medicine, and also tried reducing coffee over 4-5 days. This was just after Christmas.

However, quitting coffee is a lot harder than I thought. I assumed that quitting coffee cold-turkey was a matter of enduring headaches for a few days, and then I’d feel better. But the main problem is that I’ve built up a lifetime of habits around coffee, so even though I physically depend on coffee less, I still have many habits built around it that are harder to break.

I’m trying to really start drinking tea more often. Tea has a small amount of caffeine, and has some cost with it, but it’s overall much more reasonable than coffee. But now I have to change habits and such to drink tea as the default, not coffee.

To begin with, I took all the different types of tea I have (Oolong, green tea and Korean corn-tassel tea) and put them in a single box, labeled “The Spice”. Fans of “Dune” will appreciate the humor: ๐Ÿ™‚

Anyhow, getting off of coffee will take longer than I expected. Let’s see how I do in the next month. Wish me luck.

Author: Doug

A fellow who dwells upon the Pale Blue Dot who spends his days obsessing over things like Buddhism, KPop music, foreign languages, BSD UNIX and science fiction.

5 thoughts on “Quitting Coffee, again”

  1. Good luck! I haven’t been dependent on coffee since summer vacation started but my sis felt horrible during her planned coffee break. I think it’s awesome to choose tea by default. So many health benefits compared to coffee. But I love coffee too much ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Like

    1. Hi Marnelli,

      I wonder if some people are more “caffeine sensitive” than others. Similarly, some people are more likely to be alcoholics than others.

      But yeah, I still have one small coffee a day, but I’ve greatly reduced my dependence and am very happy about it. Already I’m starting to lose weight which makes me happy too.

      Like

      1. That’s interesting. It seems plausible. Caffeine’s a drug and to have an effect it needs to bind to receptors in the brain and whatnot.
        Congrats on the progress! ๐Ÿ˜€ Fighting! ๐Ÿ˜€

        Like

  2. I’ve thought about quitting coffee, but I guess I haven’t aroused the energy to make it happen yet. I too have built my routine around my coffee in a way that is probably pretty unhealthy, and a year ago attraction to coffee gave me something to use when I decided to quit drinking alcohol…

    Not that I think I’d relapse into alcoholism if I axed coffee — I just think think I’d feel pretty unwell for a while giving it up, and I really enjoy the stuff! Attachments, attachments…

    Like

Leave a Reply

