KPop Saturdays: Block B’s “Nillili Mambo”

Block B is a group I haven’t featured on KPop Saturday’s so far, but this video has a nice tie-in to a couple subjects here, and it’s a pretty fun video to watch:

The video was filmed in Vietnam, in Ho Chi Minh City. I studied abroad in Hanoi, which is a little more conservative, and has less foreign-influence, but watching the opening scene with Zico was really nostalgic for me because I use to sit at outdoor stands and get a straight-razor shave like that.1 It was first time I ever had straight-razor shaves like that (pretty scary at first), but it still takes me back. Plus, I appreciate the fact that is has English subtitles for the lyrics, which KPop groups are doing more and more. ๐Ÿ™‚

This video starts out serious like a gangster video, but it’s actually gets pretty silly toward the end, and please be assured that they’re actually very nice boys in real life, and had very nice things to say about Vietnam (click on ‘CC’ for English captions):

Anyhow, the song was fun and catchy and the first Block B song I really liked, plus it was fun being reminded of Vietnam. I thought they were great. Very animated, hilarious, and each showing their personality (or idealized personality). Their sound is consistent, but full of energy and talent. If you agree, show them some love. ๐Ÿ™‚

P.S. This video came out in December I think, but scheduling got crazy in late December and early January, so I’m just catching up on things now.

1 The fellow who used to shave me was one of the local neighborhood kids trying to earn some money. I always tried to give him a good tip, even though tipping is unusual in Vietnam. I figured that tipping is a show of appreciation for good service, and I thought he did a great job, so why not?

Author: Doug

A fellow who dwells upon the Pale Blue Dot who spends his days obsessing over things like Buddhism, KPop music, foreign languages, BSD UNIX and science fiction.

2 thoughts on “KPop Saturdays: Block B’s “Nillili Mambo””

Leave a Reply

