Big Annoucements!

Hi Everyone,

I had two big announcements to make:

  1. We discovered this weekend that my wife is pregnant! We’ve been trying to have a second child for almost 3 years with no success. At times stress from work got in the way (especially 2011-2012), but also we just had no luck. Finally my wife went to a famous Chinese doctor in our area and that same month she finally got pregnant. Interestingly, we went to that same doctor for the first child as well and had the same result. I was a little skeptical the first time (though we had been trying for a year), but after the second time, I’m more convinced. He’s really good. Anyhow, we think he or she will be born in late October. I admit I’m hoping for another girl; the first was so fun. We’ve already decided on names either way. More details to come of course. In any case, we’re excited that our daughter can finally have a little brother or sister. I worry about her being an only child, especially after we pass away.
  2. Second update is that because my wife needs more help at home now, I need to trim back some of my hobbies, including the blog. I had some tentative plans to take the JLPT N1 this year1 but I think I will start studying now, but take the N1 in 2014 instead. Also, I may reduce language studies a lot either by focusing on Japanese only, or just reduce time per language. I haven’t decided. For the blog, same problem: I haven’t decided how I will scale back. For the next 2 weeks, I still have a large backlog of things I’ve written that I want to post, but after that, I think I will either:
    • Keep the usual schedule, but post smaller posts.
    • Scale back the posts to 2 a week, but keep the usual length.

    As always, feedback and comments appreciated. I do try to take the seriously. ๐Ÿ™‚

Anyhow, that’s it for now.

1 I hadn’t announced this yet, since I hadn’t completely decided. I was definitely learning toward trying it though.

Author: Doug

A fellow who dwells upon the Pale Blue Dot who spends his days obsessing over things like Buddhism, KPop music, foreign languages, BSD UNIX and science fiction.

15 thoughts on “Big Annoucements!”

  1. It’s the best news of this week. Sometimes you will not be able to sit in front of the PC regularly, so I imagine that shorter post and less often is realistic?
    ๅฎ‰็”ฃใ‚’ใŠ็ฅˆใ‚Šใ—ใพใ™ใ€‚

    Like

  2. That’s some amazing news Doug! Congratulations!
    I wish you all to be healthy and all right until and after October! Keep the LOVE flowing man!

    Like

  3. Congratulations to you, your wife and your daughter! Thank you for sharing this and everything else. : D In the end, your family is most important, so we’ll understand your scaling back. Best wishes!!!

    Like

  4. Hi everyone,

    Sorry for replying late. I flew on a business trip and finally settled down somewhere with Internet access.

    Anyhow, thanks so much for your support. It’s great appreciated. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I think I may go with the 2 posts a week first, but I guess I can always change later. We’ll see.

    More about the baby in coming months.

    Like

  5. Congratulations to you and your wife. And as someone who was raised as an only child, I know I yearned all my childhood for a brother or sister. So, I think it will be good for your daughter to have a sibling.

    Like

Leave a Reply

