Second Anniversary of the 2011 Japan Earthquake

ToriiAndWreckage

Today is the 2nd anniversary of the Japan Earthquake. I didn’t feel I could write anything special, because many other people have written much better things. So, instead, I wanted to show people how the Tohoku Region of Japan is doing after the quake. Here are some interesting articles about the second-anniversary courtesy of the Japan Times:

I’ve watched some Japanese shows lately about the anniversary of the Earthquake, and it’s really sad and touching, but I feel Japanese people can explain it better than me (I don’t even live in Japan), so I decided to let them explain it. Still, if you like, you’re welcome to read my post from last year, which I still think is true.

Here’s hoping for continued recovery and healing.

P.S. The people of Tohoku still need help, not just empty prayers. If you are looking for an opportunity to help, there are still plenty.

Author: Doug

A fellow who dwells upon the Pale Blue Dot who spends his days obsessing over things like Buddhism, KPop music, foreign languages, BSD UNIX and science fiction.

4 thoughts on “Second Anniversary of the 2011 Japan Earthquake”

  1. I would love to help. I wanted to go immediately after it happened and the radiation seemed to be scaring people away. Do you know of any programs (paid or volunteer) that would allow someone from the USA to assist with rebuilding efforts?

    Like

    1. Hi Kelleynymph,

      I know how you feel. I want to help too, but I don’t know too much about what is available out there. Plus, my wife is now pregnant, so I probably won’t be going to Japan for a while anyway.

      With that said, I did some research (so others can learn too), and some groups are active in Japan:

      * Habitat for Humanity – many homes still need to be rebuilt.
      * Foreign Volunteers in Japan is a good resource for volunteer opportunities – http://www.foreignvolunteersjapan.org/

      A lot of sites no longer appear to be active, and some volunteer groups seem to want fluent Japanese speakers if possible, so opportunities are limited, but hopefully people can start here.

      Like

Leave a Reply

