Thinking About Retiring the Blog

Hi all,

I’ve been thinking about this lately, but recently even more so. I started this blog over 5 years ago, and with the simple idea to promote and explore Japanese culture, religion, etc. It’s been a really great 5 years and I’ve met a lot of people too (some I’ve met in person ๐Ÿ™‚ ). I haven’t decided for sure yet, but I have two more posts next week, and after that, I think I will stop writing for good.

However, over time things have changed and so has the blog. I tried expanding the subjects for a while, but I don’t think that worked very well. There are times where I’ve also offended people too, and I feel bad about it. I don’t like to fight or argue with people, so I’d rather avoid it if I can. But mostly, I’m kind of also burned out and tired of writing about certain subjects.

I could change the subject of the blog, but then it wouldn’t be the same blog anymore. In that case, I feel I would rather just make a clean break and start over with a new one. I’ve thought about making a new blog, but I haven’t decided yet. If I did, the blog would probably be more personal in focus.1 But, again, I haven’t decided yet.

Lastly, with Baby Number 2 coming,2 I don’t know whether I can maintain this blog anymore. I have very little time to read books anymore, and I do almost no language study or Buddhist studies anymore. So, I have nothing to offer anyway.

I don’t plan to delete this blog yet. There are a lot of useful reference posts I’d like to keep (or import to new blog), but there’s a lot of posts I probably want to clean out someday.

Anyhow, I’ll think about it this week and we’ll see.

1 My tentative idea is to focus on parenting, my life as a Buddhist and marrying into Japanese culture. In some ways it’s not too different than this blog, but with a more personal tone, less preachy, and more of a “hobby” blog. Just tentative though.

2 Number 2 is 10 weeks old now and due-date is first-half of October. We saw him/her through ultrasound recently. It was really fun to see it moving. My daughter was so excited.

Author: Doug

A fellow who dwells upon the Pale Blue Dot who spends his days obsessing over things like Buddhism, KPop music, foreign languages, BSD UNIX and science fiction.

5 thoughts on “Thinking About Retiring the Blog”

  1. I recommend you to keep writing a blog up even if it’s not many posts That’s why you can connect to many people and share your own world Baby number 2 must be very good and happy article on your blog

    Like

  2. Keep it up even if the subject matter changes a bit & it’s not as often – I think your ‘new’ topics will fit in just fine! ๐Ÿ˜€ (coming from someone who hasn’t written in something like 2 months… )

    Like

  3. Hi guys, thanks for writing back:

    Cocomino: Good point. I do enjoy connecting with people around the world. Also, I did want to introduce Number 2 when he or she is born. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Amberinjp: That’s good feedback thanks. One other thing I realized is that it would be hard to link back to older pages from a new blog. Something to think about. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  4. I appreciate everything you’ve written, and if you decide to stop blogging, or to set up a new, more focused, blog, there is nothing wrong with that.

    Just remember you have people here who might like to follow along if you start a new blog, OK? ๐Ÿ™‚

    Be well!

    Like

Leave a Reply

