Changes to the Blog

Pruitt-Igoe-collapses

(Change is good)

Hi all,

People might have noticed that I’ve been making small (and big) changes to the blog. Originally, my plan was to retire this blog, and maybe start a new one. However, I soon realized that I would have many problems linking back to old posts from one blog to the other. It would get complicated and messy.

So, after talking with my wife and daughter one night, they both suggested just changing the blog itself. Readers suggested this too, by the way. πŸ™‚ I expressed my original concerns and she agreed that I should make the blog more personal and less authoritative, but otherwise keep it the same.

The only problem was the name. I didn’t want to use a misleading title. I still wanted a title that would express the basic theme of the blog, but flexible enough that I could change the blog without having to change the blog title again.

I tried a few ideas, but didn’t just didn’t work right. If you read the blog at just the right time, you might have seen some of my failed ideas. πŸ˜‰

Finally, I settled on “Essays in Idleness”. This is the English title of the famous Japanese text: the tsurezure gusa (徒焢草). I checked and I couldn’t find another English-language blog with the same title, so I decided to use it.1 The original text was written by a 13th century Buddhist monk, and dealt with personal thoughts and such. I felt it was a good analogy for this blog.

So, I’m happy to report that the blog will not retire, but as you may have noticed I have made some changes. I sincerely hope you enjoy them. For me, it’s nice to change things sometimes and start fresh. πŸ™‚ I might still make a few small changes, but I’m pretty satisfied with the changes I made so far.

Anyhow, thank you everyone for your support, comments and “likes”. I appreciate them all.

1 My wife originally proposed “A Doug’s Life” (a joke on Disney’s “A Bug’s Life”), but I found at least 4 other blogs with the same title. Very tempting, but not original enough.

Author: Doug

A fellow who dwells upon the Pale Blue Dot who spends his days obsessing over things like Buddhism, KPop music, foreign languages, BSD UNIX and science fiction.

4 thoughts on “Changes to the Blog”

  1. Doug, Pleased to hear that you have decided to continue your blog, which I enjoy very much. “Essays in Idleness” has long been a favorite of mine, and I still browse through it from time to time. And I look forward to reading yours.
    Jack

    Like

  2. I’m glad to see that you decided to continue blogging. I don’t comment so much anymore (mostly because I don’t feel I have a lot to add), but I still read it regularly, and I’d have been disappointed to see it go!

    -Daniel C

    Like

Leave a Reply

