Writer’s Block

Hi all,

I’ve been concerned about my struggles to keep up the blog lately, when I finally figured out the problem: I have writer’s block. I have about 8 unfinished posts right now, but I can’t finish them for some reason. I open them up, look at them, realize I don’t know what to say, get distracted and do something else.

Then I read in Wikipedia:

Other blocks, especially the more serious kind, may be produced by adverse circumstances in a writer’s life or career: physical illness, depression, the end of a relationship, financial pressures, a sense of failure….It has been suggested that writer’s block is more than just a mentality. Under stress, a human brain will “shift control from the cerebral cortex to the limbic system”. The limbic system is associated with the instinctual processes, such as “fight or flight” response. Because the person is primarily thinking in instinctual (learned) behaviors, creative processes are hindered. The person is often unaware of the change, which may lead them to believe they are creatively “blocked”.

That makes a lot of sense to me. Well, I don’t know what a “limbic system” is, but I understand the rest. 😉

The last few months have been pretty intense. Work has been very busy (more so than in the past), but also the family and I have been slowly preparing for the coming baby. Between the two, I just go to sleep a lot, or play Nintendo games.1

I think I’m stuck on “survival mode” right now. Language studies are getting neglected,2 I don’t read books much anymore, and don’t really keep up on projects much. I think I’m just trying to hang onto the train for now. In the meantime, I’m still writing, but the quality might suffer a bit.

Soon though, I might try to take a couple days off and get some rest though. I’ve been working a lot of hours lately, and I think I deserve a small break.

As always, thanks for reading. 🙂

1 Currently enjoying The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess…my daughter loves watching me play too.

2 I almost never study Korean or Latin anymore. I really want to, but the motivation is just gone for now.

Author: Doug

A fellow who dwells upon the Pale Blue Dot who spends his days obsessing over things like Buddhism, KPop music, foreign languages, BSD UNIX and science fiction.

Leave a Reply

