How to bow in Korean and Japanese Culture

A small video I made recently:

I got tired of seeing celebrities and even politicians do these weird bows to Asian people and decided that a short, simple video. I’m not an expert, but since I married my wife and spend time in Japan I learned how to bow pretty quick. Plus, as a teenager, I grew up with a lot of Korean friends, so I learned how to bow then too.

So, this video is for people who are new to Asian culture and just want to know how to bow right. It’s pretty easy, but I think Westerners tend to “over-think” it and over-do it.

The top and bottom of this video are cut off a little. I was filming this upstairs in the hallway because the light from outside was so good (my house is kind of dark inside), but it was a narrow space, so I couldn’t make the video any bigger.

Hope you enjoy though.

P.S. Thanks to the folks at Seoulistic for the inspiration. 🙂

P.P.S. A much more entertaining video on Japanese bowing, thanks to reader “Han”.

Author: Doug

A fellow who dwells upon the Pale Blue Dot who spends his days obsessing over things like Buddhism, KPop music, foreign languages, BSD UNIX and science fiction.

4 thoughts on “How to bow in Korean and Japanese Culture”

Leave a Reply

