Getting Ready for Halloween

Hi Everyone,

Autumn is my favorite season, and I really enjoy October and November. October has Halloween, and my birthday is early November, and late November is Thanksgiving. Plus I enjoy a lot of good Autumn poetry in the Japanese poetry anthology, the Hyakunin Isshu (百人一首).

Last weekend, the weekend before the baby was born, my wife, daughter and I went to Bob’s Corn, which had a large pumpkin patch:

Untitled

First, we walked through a maze of corn:

Untitled

I’ve never walked through a corn-maze before, but it was a lot of fun. This maze was smaller and simpler for kids, so we solved the maze in about 20 minutes. My pregnant was very tired by that point and wanted to sit down.

So, my daughter and I picked some pumpkins for Halloween:

Untitled

Bob’s Corn was a great pumpkin patch. Not too far, not too big and crowded and not too expensive. People were very friendly too. We had a great time.

Also, I started my yearly tradition again of reading Roger Zelazny’s Halloween novel A Night in the Lonesome October. This is a fun story that includes Dracula, the Werewolf, Frankenstein’s monster in a story that is similar to H.P. Lovecraft. Because the book is divided by days, one chapter for each day in October, I read one chapter a day. On October 10th, I read the chapter for October 10th. The early chapters are short, but the later chapters get longer and longer.

Speaking of Dracula, I also started reading the original novel Dracula by Bram Stoker.1 It’s a little difficult to read, because it is written like a diary, but it’s still a great story to read.2

If you’re looking for other things to read, I highly recommend the original novel Frankenstein too. It’s somewhat different than modern images of Frankenstein’s monster, but the book is pretty thrilling, even though it was written in the 1800’s.

Every year I plan to buy or make a Halloween costume, but I never have the time. My goal is to dress like Nintendo’s Mario (or Luigi), but I probably won’t have time this year either with the new baby in the house. We’ll see.

Anyhow, hope you have a fun, safe and spooky Halloween!

1 One of many famous authors from Ireland. Ireland has a truly impressive history of excellent authors.

2 I remember watching the 1992 movie also in the theater with my mother when I was 16. Bad idea. Unlike the novel, there was a lot of sex in that movie which was very awkward to watch with my mom. Still, Gary Oldman’s acting was really awesome, and I liked Anthony Hopkins too.

Author: Doug

A fellow who dwells upon the Pale Blue Dot who spends his days obsessing over things like Buddhism, KPop music, foreign languages, BSD UNIX and science fiction.

Leave a Reply

