Greed

Recently I finished reading the famous pirate novel Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson. I was able to read for free on my iPhone because it is a very old classic.1

I felt this quote explained greed very well:

“And thereupon we all entered the cave. It was a large, airy place, with a little spring and a pool of clear water, overhung with ferns. The floor was sand. Before a big fire lay Captain Smollett; and in a far corner, only duskily flickered over by the blaze, I beheld great heaps of coin and quadrilaterals built of bars of gold. That was Flint’s treasure that we had come so far to seek, and that had cost already the lives of seventeen men from the Hispaniola. How many it had cost in the amassing, what blood and sorrow, what good ships scuttled on the deep, what brave men walking the plank blindfold, what shot of cannon, what shame and lies and cruelty, perhaps no man alive could tell.”

Treasure Island was a great book to read, but the overall theme of the book is how greed destroys men, and it’s true when you think about it. If you haven’t read the book before, I highly recommend it.

1 When I was in middle school, I was assigned to read Treasure Island for class, but I was a very lazy student, and never read the books I was assigned. I came very close to repeating the 7th grade. That’s how bad I was. Kind of ironic that I read so many books now. :p

Author: Doug

A fellow who dwells upon the Pale Blue Dot who spends his days obsessing over things like Buddhism, KPop music, foreign languages, BSD UNIX and science fiction.

Leave a Reply

