Seven-Eleven Japan Comes To The US

I read in the news a year ago that Seven-Eleven Japan had bought out its parent company, Seven Eleven in the US in 1991, and plans to expand in the US and raise the quality of its stores. I was a bit skeptical at first, but then I started to notice these at the convenience-store near work:

IMG_6348

These are Japanese snacks now sold in Seven-Eleven in the US. Actually the 7-11 near work is pretty nice. It doesn’t have the same level of customer service as in Japan, but it’s clean, has good, cheap food ($1 pizza tastes better than you think) and has some good selection. I used to buy Korean ramen there sometimes.

The snacks themselves were good. My wife liked the 薩摩芋けんぴ (satsuma-imo kenpi, sweet-potato chips) which you can see in the photo. She says they’re a very “Japanese” flavor. I didn’t like them that much. I did like the chocolate チョコ棒 (chokobō chocolate staff/rod) though, which is maybe a very “American” flavor. ;p I was also happy to see that some items were selling well. Plus, the guy who was standing in line behind me told me they were good too. So, it’s an encouraging sign.

Still, it’s not as awesome as 7-11 in Japan, and I hope that 7-11 keeps improving so that it will feel more like the ones in Japan.

I’d be really happy if they have those “curry bread” pastries too. 😉

Author: Doug

A fellow who dwells upon the Pale Blue Dot who spends his days obsessing over things like Buddhism, KPop music, foreign languages, BSD UNIX and science fiction.

2 thoughts on “Seven-Eleven Japan Comes To The US”

Leave a Reply

