Happy Girls Day 2014

To all the little girls out there, and ladies who are still young at heart, Happy Girls’ Day:

Hinamatsuri 2

Girls’ Day is a fun day for our family (more detailed post last year), as we can celebrate Princess growing into a bright, young lady and wish her a happy marriage someday. For me, I get to eat lots of delicious sakura-mochi too. 😉

Also, in honor of my daughter, I decided to finish my other blog, the Hyakunin Isshu blog, on March 3rd. I posted the final poem today. It was a fun project, but I’m glad I finished too, especially now that Little Guy was born.

However, this year, I setup the doll set much later than usual. I was so busy with work and helping with Little Guy, that we got pretty distracted. Also, guess who’s on-call today for work? :-/ Normally, the doll set should be setup on the first Taian after Setsubun (more on Setsubun soon 😉 ) which is February 3rd, but we set up the doll-set only 1 week before Girls’ Day.

Oh well, I’ll make it up for her next year.

One good thing though is that my daughter is now old enough to help me put it together. It was a good daddy-daughter moment. Plus, this year I can enjoy Children’s Day (which is also Boys’ Day) for the first time. 🙂

Anyway, happy Girls’ Day!

P.S. Today might be a double-post. Stay-tuned. 😉

Author: Doug

A fellow who dwells upon the Pale Blue Dot who spends his days obsessing over things like Buddhism, KPop music, foreign languages, BSD UNIX and science fiction.

Leave a Reply

