A Good Vacation

Hello,

Recently, I took a couple days off from work and just stayed at home. Unlike countries like Japan or the UK and Ireland, there aren’t many public holidays in the US and no bank-holidays. Instead, people usually get a lot of vacation “days” they can use whenever. This is good and bad in some ways, I think.

Anyhow, I decided to use a couple vacation days just to relax at home. Since Little Guy was born six months ago, I hadn’t taken any time off to relax. We did go to Disneyland in March to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary, and that was a lot of fun, but we were tired by the end, and we had spent a lot of money.

This time, I just wanted to sit at home. I spent some time working on the blog, I played some computer games, studied kanji with Heisig Method, and caught up on things in general. But the most important thing I did was spend time with my family.

The second day was great. The weather was about 20°C (70°F), sunny and pleasant. I took Little Guy on a short walk in his stroller around the neighborhood. We stopped at the grocery store, bought some bread, and took a nice scenic walk back home. He was very happy after got back. Since he’s 6 months old, he can’t say anything, but he was smiling a lot when he saw me and slept better that night.

Also, in the afternoon, I picked up my daughter from school and we all went to buy shoes for summer. Afterwards, we had ice cream, and went home. Then, I started our barbecue grill (mentioned here), and made dinner for the family. It was a great afternoon, and a good dinner. We all had a good evening.

Unfortunately, I let the grill (a Big Green Egg) get too hot and the lid melted shut! I read online that this is because the glue for the felt-lining melts if the temperature is too high. Using a putty-knife, I was able to gently separate the lid and this is what I saw:

Big Green Egg, melted gasket

The gasket inside had totally melted! 😮

The grill still works fine, but I will need to replace the gasket sometime, and that seems like a difficult task.

Still, overall it was a great day. I had a lot of fun with the family, and I got to catch up on nerd hobbies. It was a nice, relaxing vacation. The lesson, I think, is that a good vacation doesn’t have to cost a lot of money or require travel if you spend time with friends and family. 🙂

Author: Doug

A fellow who dwells upon the Pale Blue Dot who spends his days obsessing over things like Buddhism, KPop music, foreign languages, BSD UNIX and science fiction.

1 thought on “A Good Vacation”

  1. Thanks for sharing about your home vacation – your “staycation”.

    Enjoying time has become part of my own practice, and having young kids helped a lot to cultivate that. After all, try walking a short distance with a young toddler and you’ll quickly see that they are intensely noticing so much. That’s a real walking meditation!

    If you’re curious, here are some of my experiences with time:

    http://viewpacific.wordpress.com/2008/10/29/choose-time/

    Like

Leave a Reply

