Life Of A Computer Nerd

My life and career as a computer engineer often reminds me of this hilarious scene from the 80’s comedy movie UHF:

In this scene, the character imagines he is Rambo, fighting impossible enemies, and somehow never getting hurt. In the past, I joked about nerds with big egos, but when people rely on you to solve complex technical problems, it’s easy to get a “big head”. It happens to me all the time. :-p

But then recently, I met another person in my company who really was military veteran of the Iraq War. Although he is now a respectable manager of a group of computer technicians, 10 years ago, he said he had been at Fallujah. He didn’t say much else, but he probably experienced some of the terrible fighting that happened during this time. I can’t imagine what he saw 10 years ago.

It’s really humbling to meet someone like that though. Although I was personally opposed to the Iraq War, I still respect the soldiers who went there because they sacrificed their families and lives for duty.

Of course, fighting in war is not the only way to earn respect,1 but meeting someone like this made me realize that a lot of what I do at work really isn’t that important. Sure, I have a fancy title, but if you think about it, what I do doesn’t benefit society in any way. It’s all about helping a company make money, and me making money too.

Anyway, I don’t want to sound negative here. I just think it’s important to be humble about oneself. 🙂 The real heroes might be people around you that you don’t even know. 😉

P.S. If you haven’t seen the movie UHF, I highly, highly recommend it. One of the funniest movies of the 1980’s and is still funny 30 years later.

1 Being a good father is another, helping in your community is another. Just a few ideas.

Author: Doug

A fellow who dwells upon the Pale Blue Dot who spends his days obsessing over things like Buddhism, KPop music, foreign languages, BSD UNIX and science fiction.

Leave a Reply

