Spock and Me

Hello,

As some readers might know, I am a fan of classic Star Trek. I have been a fan since I was a boy when the Star Trek movies were popular.1 Recently, I made a small impulse-purchase and bought a bust of Mr Spock for my desk at work:

IMG_8908.JPG

I’ve always been a big fan of Mr. Spock, and when I was a young, impressionable teenager, I wanted to be as smart, calm and self-disciplined as him. I even practiced the eyebrow-move he sometimes does when he says “fascinating“, and the Vulcan-salute.

Anyhow, the bust is pretty small, as you can, but it looks nice (good detail), and has a small book of quotations by Mr Spock. Some of the better quotations I liked are:

After a time, you may find that having is not so pleasing a thing, after all, as wanting. It is not logical, but it is often true.

And:

[Being Vulcan] means to adopt a philosophy, a way of life, which is logical and beneficial. We cannot disregard that philosophy merely for personal gain, no matter how important that gain might be.

And:

Change is the essential process of all existence.

….and so on. For $8 I felt it was a good purchase.

Spock was just a TV and movie character, but I always liked what he embodied.

Have a Logical Christmas!

Merry, Logical Christmas everyone!

P.S. You might also notice the post-it note on my desk that says Festina Lente. This is Latin for “hurry slowly”, and is a famous phrase often used by Emperor Augustus. I work in a complex, technical environment, so it’s a reminder to not be lazy, but not to rush either. I guess in Japanese, it might be something like ゆっくり急いで (yukkuri isoide), but that’s just a guess. 🙂

P.P.S. The two soldiers were purchased during my business trip to Chattanooga, TN, and the dental floss is just something everyone should have. 🙂

1 Star Trek IV is still my personal favorite. Nuclear wessels! Hello computer.

Author: Doug

A fellow who dwells upon the Pale Blue Dot who spends his days obsessing over things like Buddhism, KPop music, foreign languages, BSD UNIX and science fiction.

One thought on “Spock and Me”

Leave a Reply

