Setsubun Death Mask 2015!

Hi guys,

Today (US time zone) is Setsubun (節分). In the traditional Japanese calendar (旧暦, kyūreki) which is based off the Chinese calendar, the 3rd day of the 2nd month would mark the end of Winter and the start of Spring. In the solar calendar, this is February 3rd.

Every year, we do a tradition where I put on an oni mask (oni are like ogres) and Princess throws roasted soybeans or roasted peanuts at me. People will then recite: oni wa soto, fuku wa uchi which means “out demon, in luck!”

I was so busy in 2014 because of Little Guy, I didn’t blog about it. In fact, we were too tired to celebrate.

In 2013, I made an Oni mask:

Setsubun mask

However, in 2014, Princess wanted to make a mask for me. This is the result:

My daughter made this Setsubun Mask for me...

It is supposed to be cute, but actually looks scary like Jason from Friday the 13th. I call it the “Setsubun Death Mask”.

Little Guy will celebrate his first Setsubun this evening, but we tested the mask last night to see if he would be scared or not. He just smiled and laughed. 🙂 So, we should be ok.

So, anyhow happy Setsubun everyone and please don’t get any nightmares from the Setsubun Death Mask! 😉

P.S. I am proud of my daughter for making the mask. She put a lot of good detail in it. I am just joking about the “death mask” part. 🙂

Author: Doug

A fellow who dwells upon the Pale Blue Dot who spends his days obsessing over things like Buddhism, KPop music, foreign languages, BSD UNIX and science fiction.

Leave a Reply

