Better Late Than Never: Girl’s Day 2015



Hello,

This year has been hectic but I finally put together for the Japanese holiday of hinamatsuri (ひな祭り) or Girls’ Day. Girls’ Day is on March 3rd.

According to tradition, the best time to assemble the doll set is after Setsubun, which was 3 weeks ago. Similarly, you should take down the doll set soon after Girls’ Day to ensure your daughter will soon find a husband and a happy marriage.1

We are looking forward to Girls’ Day. My wife always cooks great food, I get to eat sakuramochi and we can celebrate our wonderful daughter’s life and look forward to a happy future.

I remember when she was just a little baby with funky hair that wouldn’t lay down. Now she’s 8, tall, beautiful but also nerdy like her father. It’s amazing how much she’s grown. Someday, she will get go to college and get married. *sigh*

Anyhow, I sound like oyabaka (親バカ), a silly dottering parent. I’m looking forward to Girls’ Day and I hope you are too.

1 Subconsciously, maybe I don’t want my daughter to get married, perhaps. 😉

Author: Doug

A fellow who dwells upon the Pale Blue Dot who spends his days obsessing over things like Buddhism, KPop music, foreign languages, BSD UNIX and science fiction.

Leave a Reply

