Romans, Cherry Blossoms and Irish Sushi

Hi all,

Lots of fun things to talk about this week. As readers know, I’ve been busy lately because of my transition to my new job. I’ve been spending a lot of time at night studying new technologies used at the new company, but also practicing Buddhist chanting. In particular, the Shoshinge hymn, Gyofu style. This has left me with less time for blogging.1

First, we went to see cherry blossoms (摜 sakura) at the University of Washington last weekend. Some of the trees had no fully bloomed yet, but the weather was very nice, and we had a great time. I’ll post pictures about separately, but for now, enjoy this photo. πŸ™‚

Untitled

Later that week, we went to see an exhibit about the famous Roman city of Pompeii at the Pacific Science Center. As readers probably know, the city of Pompeii (γƒγƒ³γƒšγ‚€ for Japanese readers) was destroyed by Mount Vesuvius, and was preserved for thousands of years. So, it’s a fascinating look at Roman life at that time.

Also, as readers might recall, I am interested in Roman culture and language. I was pretty excited to go.

The exhibit was great, but Little Guy didn’t like the heat and the crowds. Within 5-10 minutes, he was crying and very fussy. I picked him up, and took him outside. I only saw the exhibit very briefly, but it was very interesting. It’s hard to imagine a city frozen in time like Pompeii, with people who were just like us but now preserved in ash and stone. I probably plan to go back again, without Little Guy.2 πŸ˜‰

Finally, we celebrated Saint Patrick’s Day at home. My wife has been interested in Irish Cooking ever since we lived there, and will cook things like brown-bread (Irish soda bread), corned-beef and other things. She made a really great dinner last night:

Irish Corned Beef

She used freshly-chopped parsely, and nice mustard. It was really great. We had leftovers, so she them to make a bento-lunch for my daughter the following morning:

Japanese Bento with Irish Corned Beef

Also, she made “Irish” sushi as well. It has the colors of the Irish flag: green, white and orange. πŸ˜‰

So it was a fun week of Roman relics, cherry blossoms and “irish” sushi. I hope you had a great week too. πŸ™‚

1 I’ve been debating about adding more technical blog posts here, as I am learning a lot of good things, but this might not interest all readers. Then again, it will help people searching for things. If I did this, it would not mean a decrease in Japan-Buddhist posts though. πŸ™‚

2 My wife bought me a cool “Roman” coffee cup at the gift-shop though. I was happy about that. Ironically, it’s made in China. πŸ˜‰

Author: Doug

A fellow who dwells upon the Pale Blue Dot who spends his days obsessing over things like Buddhism, KPop music, foreign languages, BSD UNIX and science fiction.

Leave a Reply

