Transitions

Recently, I was watching a new video by one of my favorite Youtube channels: Andrew’s Game Display. In this video, he explains that he isn’t able to make videos often anymore due to the demands of college, work and life in general, and apologies to his readers for not keeping up with his old schedule. I always liked Andrew’s because he’s a very genuine guy and makes gaming fun and accessible.

When I watch Andrew’s video, I can see that his life his changing. He’s in college now, working full-time, etc. He is transitioning from one life to another. In the same way, I feel I am transitioning too. I was upset about neglecting my hobbies, but when I look at from the perspective of transitions, it made me feel better. I am not being lazy, but my life is changing and that means some of my old hobbies are fading away, while new things occupy my time.

For me, the main changes have been my new job, which I enjoy very much, raising two kids, preparing for ordination, etc. At first, I thought that once Little Guy got older, life would return to normal and I could resume things like Youtube videos, and blogging regularly. The reality though is that it’s getting harder to maintain the blog and I rarely make Youtube videos anymore.

Also, this year I won’t even be able to go to Japan because I started a new job and don’t want to take that much time off. So I won’t be able to talk about visiting Japan. I am not sure I have enough motivation to take the JLPT N1 exam either this year.

But when you think about it, life is just a series of transitions. There’s no clean break, usually, just constant changes and transitions. Looking back, I can see that in the last year my life has been transitioning, but I was in denial. You can never really go back to the way things were, you can only go forward.

Looking forward to the future, I feel my blog will start to wind down more and more. I don’t plan to quit the blog, but I don’t plan to follow a schedule anymore. It’s just not possible anymore. That means I might not post for a while. It could be a long while. It just depends on other things.

But for you faithful readers, thanks for all your support over the years, and I will continue posting interesting things I find, but I can’t promise I will post regularly anymore. Since the blog has been around for 7+ years (February 2008), there’s plenty of content for new readers as well. I wish I could post more and better content, but I hope readers are not disappointed with the changes coming.

Thanks for your patience and please continue enjoying this blog. πŸ™‚

Author: Doug

A fellow who dwells upon the Pale Blue Dot who spends his days obsessing over things like Buddhism, KPop music, foreign languages, BSD UNIX and science fiction.

5 thoughts on “Transitions”

  1. Doug, I have followed your blog for years and understand how life changes for us. Since I began reading your blog I have retired and now joyfully give my time to study of the Dharma and starting a Shinshu study group in my area. Take each day with gratitude, continue to aspire to ordition, cherish your family and continue to share through your blog. In Gassho

    Liked by 1 person

  2. heh just speaking of kids… I remember when my son was born, suddenly I had no time to do much of anything. No blogging, no photography (which I make a good deal of money from, but luckily it’s freelance so I could put it on hold a month), no hobbies, pretty much everything disappeared as I took care of my wife and newborn son. At the time I kept thinking to myself “After my wife recovers from the childbirth, I will have more time again to resume my old life”. Turns out I didn’t. Even with my wife taking care of him more, I had to work more to pay for him and when I was at home I helped my wife or took over for her… still no time. I thought to myself, “When he gets old enough to walk, then he will be easier to care for and I will have more time.” Well, you know what’s next.

    Having kids allowed me to truly understand older people when they told me in the past that they couldn’t return to their hobbies until after all the kids went away to college. Ho hum, that is life. It changes, it transitions, it flows on. I suppose it would get too boring if it actually paused for awhile, despite our secret desires for just that.

    Good luck with the latest transition in your life!

    Like

    1. Yeah, it’s becoming clear that life won’t go back to the way it was before, and I’m getting used to that. πŸ™‚ I do enjoy my kids a lot, so I guess I’ve given up one fun hobby to spend time with my kids and I am OK with that.

      Like

  3. Sorry, this is a late reply. I’ve been absolutely swamped at work. Congrats again on the new job! Definitely hear you about JLPT. I’m still debating whether or not to take N3 – my only weakness for that one is the kanji and I haven’t decided whether or not picking up the remaining kanji is out of reach (took the old 3kyu years ago). I really hope you keep up the blog in whatever capacity you’re able. You always share great stuff! Though it’s probably a good idea to alleviate any pressure to post and only post when you want to – hobbies shouldn’t feel like work. Transitions can be tough. In my case, I haven’t really adjusted since moving at the end of 2013. Sometimes even small changes can have huge effects on daily routine, which can carry over into effects on energy levels, and general mood. Hope you’re doing well!

    Like

Leave a Reply

