Tolerance

This is another great quote from The Zen Monastic Experience (the other here):

Some months later, after completing four quarters of university study, I arrived in Bangkok, a nineteen-year-old filled with idealized images of Buddhism learned from books. Of course, I was quickly disillusioned. One of the things that immediately irked me was that Thai monks kept asking me when I planned to disrobe [return to lay life]. This question is common in Thailand, since Thais typically ordain for only a few months as part of their Buddhist religion training, much as Protestants might attend Sunday School; they have no intention of being monks permanently. But to me it seemed almost sacrilege to ordain without a strong commitment to your vocation. It took me quite a while to learn to watch myself, not others. (pg. 72)

This is something I still struggle with a lot, not just in religion, but in life in general.

Author: Doug

A fellow who dwells upon the Pale Blue Dot who spends his days obsessing over things like Buddhism, KPop music, foreign languages, BSD UNIX and science fiction.

Leave a Reply

