Lafcadio Hearn’s “Kaidan” in 3 Minutes

Hello,

Obon season is coming again in Japan, and this is a good time for ghost stories. Unlike the US, where Halloween and October are a popular time for ghost-stories, such stories are popular around late summer In Japan because Obon is a time when people pay respects to dead ancestors, etc.

In the past, I’ve told ghost stories by Lafcadio Hearn, the famous Greco-Irish author who lived in Japan 120 years ago. Many, though not all, are from Hearn’s novel “Kwaidan”, which in modern Japanese is spelled as “Kaidan” (怪談). However, this year I am doing a bit of a twist. The YouTube videos below are stories from Kaidan, told in 3 minutes or less, by the Japan Internet comedy show Eagle Talon (鷹の爪).

These videos are only in Japanese, sorry, but they’re hilarious to watch. I’ve linked the original English-versions of the story too.

The first story is Rokuro-kubi, which I posted here. You can also click on the video here.

And here’s another story, Earless Hoichi, which I posted here. You can click on the video:

Enjoy!

Author: Doug

A fellow who dwells upon the Pale Blue Dot who spends his days obsessing over things like Buddhism, KPop music, foreign languages, BSD UNIX and science fiction.

2 thoughts on “Lafcadio Hearn’s “Kaidan” in 3 Minutes”

  1. About a month ago I finished reading a copy of Kwaidan that I found at B&N back around easter time. Thanks for the vids!

    Like

    1. Glad you enjoyed! I wish I could find ones with English subttitles, but 鷹の爪 is definitely a bit too hip and “indie” to warrant the resources. Don’t ask me to translate either, I can’t understand more than 40% of it. ;-p

      Like

Leave a Reply

