JLPT N1: Failure

 

Well, I got my test results back from the JLPT N1 exam today:

  • Vocabulary 18 / 60
  • Reading: 0 / 60
  • Listening: 22 / 60

I passed only listening (barely), which is ironic because I thought that was my worst section. 

But how did I get 0 points in reading essays? I thought that was the easiest, and statistically I should’ve made a few correct choices. It was a multiple choice exam. My wife suspects my answers were off-by-one on the bubble-sheet which is plausible, not to mention very careless. Or, I am really that terrible. 

Certainly disapponting, though not surprising. I took a big risk in doing the exam without preparation, and relying only on reading and watching TV. 

So, part of me wants to try again, but this time I need to invest in preparation, practice and time, which is hard when you are raising two kids. Plus, I am less motivated these days since I have no aspirations to live in Japan anymore. 

Or, do I just cut my losses and be content with an N2?  That makes my life easier, but then I have to live life knowing I quit something without at least trying again. The pride in me would not sit well with that. 

Decisions, decisions…

Author: Doug

A fellow who dwells upon the Pale Blue Dot who spends his days obsessing over things like Buddhism, KPop music, foreign languages, BSD UNIX and science fiction.

2 thoughts on “JLPT N1: Failure”

  1. N2 is a fantastic achievement. If you chase after the N1 again, do it for you. Because you want to try again. Because you don’t want to give up. It is just a test and if a job or relocation doesn’t hinge on it, it is something that doesn’t absolutely have to be done. If you do it, do it because it matters to your heart. If that is your reason even the preparation of studying will not feel nearly so burdensome as it would if you were doing it because you ‘must’.

    Like

    1. Hi Lissa, I think you make a good point: if the passion for taking the test isn’t there, then it may not be worth it. I guess then I have a bit of soul-searching to do, but I don’t want to spend too long either, since the test date will come sooner than one thinks. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

