Setsubun 2016

Hello readers,

Setsubun the Japanese holiday came and went pretty fast this year. I was busy that week being on-call at work, but still found the time to spend the evening with the family. This year we did a couple things different.

First, my wife made ehōmaki which is a kind of roll-sushi that is more common in the Kansai area of Japan (Kyoto, Osaka). Since my wife is from the Kanto region near Tokyo, she didn’t really make ehomaki in the past.  Here is the photo my wife took:

The tradition, based on what she read on the Internet, is to face the correct direction for that year,1 keep a wish in mind, and try to finish eating the entire roll without saying a word. My wife, daughter and I all managed to accomplish this feat pretty easily.

Later, we did the classic mamemaki tradition: throwing roasted soy-beans at the demon to drive out bad luck. To make less of a mess, my wife wrapped up the roasted soy-beans into little plastic bags. As always, I dressed up as a demon, and just like past videos, I like to edit the videos for fun. This year, I made the video with more of a Final Fantasy or JRPG theme.2 I don’t have a lot of good video-editing material to work with, and I only made this in an hour, so it’s not great quality, but if you ever played any Final Fantasy game, or even any JRPG, you’ll get the joke. 🙂

So that’s Setsubun 2016. I’m supposed to setup the Girl’s Day doll display set as soon as possible, but it’s already been two weeks and I still haven’t set it up. Since I don’t have to work on President’s Day, I might use the opportunity then. We’ll see. 🙂

1 The direction in 2016 was south by south-east.

2 I originally intended to use music clips from the official soundtrack for Final Fantasy XIII (which is why it’s mentioned in the credits), then realized that that would be a copyright violation, so I switched to the free soundtrack provided on my computer. Like I said… don’t expect quality. 😉

Author: Doug

A fellow who dwells upon the Pale Blue Dot who spends his days obsessing over things like Buddhism, KPop music, foreign languages, BSD UNIX and science fiction.

Leave a Reply

