Buddha Beer?

So, recently I found this at the local supermarket:

A case of

To be honest, I felt this was in poor taste because:

  • It uses a lot of Asian and Buddhist stereotypical clichés.
  • The Buddha warned against “consuming intoxicants” as part of the Five Precepts
  • The “fat Buddha” isn’t even a Buddha. However the website does include a nice explanation clarifying this. 

Anyhow, I don’t necessarily want people to boycott the company because its employees depend on it for their livelihood, but I wish the company had been a bit more sensitive to Chinese culture and Buddhist religion. So, I felt like calling it out. 

Author: Doug

A fellow who dwells upon the Pale Blue Dot who spends his days obsessing over things like Buddhism, KPop music, foreign languages, BSD UNIX and science fiction.

5 thoughts on “Buddha Beer?”

  1. Hi Doug – would it be okay to re-post this on my blog, American Buddhist Perspectives? (with due credit and a link back to here, of course). I try to post interesting/weird pop-culture and Buddhism stuff there when I see it and I appreciate your thoughtful and compassionate response.

    Like

Leave a Reply

