Disney Tsum Tsum

img_2593

On the lighter side of things, let me introduce you to Tsum Tsum’s.1  These are a Disney product originally from Japan where tsumu (積む) is the verb to “pile up” (e.g. snow). Originally the only Tsum Tsum they had were the classic Disney characters: Mickey, Pooh, etc.  However, over time, as Tsum Tsum become more popular in Japan and overseas, more and more characters have been added.

My wife and her sister, both Disney fans, collect Tsum Tsum periodically, so we have a few of them from Japan, such as Tigger in a bee costume (for some reason Japanese people love seeing Disney characters dressed up as other things). We have a couple larger Tsum Tsum as well that the kids can use as pillows.  But generally I haven’t taken much interest in Tsum Tsum because I am just not that interested in the characters. My wife and I do play the Tsum Tsum mobile game, but she is far ahead of me, which is unusual since I am usually the “gamer” of the family. 😉

Recently Tsum Tsum have started adding more characters including Marvel comics and Star Wars.  My daughter owns a Tsum Tsum of the Black Widow, whom she is a fan.2 But until Star Wars I didn’t take much of an interest myself. In light of recent events, my wife kindly bought me some Tsum Tsum from Star Wars. Here you can see Yoda, Chewbacca and Darth Vader. I like to keep them on my desk at work since Yoda serves as a Buddhist inspiration for me (not unlike Spock), while Darth Vader reminds me to avoid the Dark Side. Chewbacca is just cute, and rounds out the trio.

Anyhow, just something I wanted to share.  If you’re curious about Tsum Tsum, there is a fan site here.

1 In the spirit of open disclosure I work at Disney, but this post is a personal post. 🙂

2 The fact that there aren’t many toys related to the Black Widow is a bit disappointing. Granted it’s kind of a dark character, but my daughter thinks that the movie version of Black Widow is really cool because she’s clever and strong. She also likes the Scarlet Witch as well from the second movie.

Author: Doug

A fellow who dwells upon the Pale Blue Dot who spends his days obsessing over things like Buddhism, KPop music, foreign languages, BSD UNIX and science fiction.

Leave a Reply

