Heart to Heart

This was something a friend brought back from Japan after their mother had passed away.  Their mother was a member of the Soto Zen sect in Japan, though I don’t know if they were actively Buddhist or just part of the parish.  In any case, as part of the funeral, my friend received some goods from the temple and she brought some back for me knowing I was interested in Buddhism. 🙂

In any case, I decided to hang this up in my little meditation space.¹

These Chinese characters 我逢人 are read as gahōjin (がほうじん) in Sino-Japanese pronunciation.  These are words attributed to the founder of Soto Zen in Japan, Dogen. The meaning is something like “self meets [another] person”. Zen is not my forté, but I believe it speaks to the kind of heart to heart understanding of the Dharma that happens between student and disciple that goes beyond words. However, I could be wrong.

Anyhow, just something I wanted to share. 🙂

¹ By “meditation space”, I mean just a small space in the walk-in closet in the den.  That’s the only space left in the house since Little Guy was born.  Ah, parenting.  🙂

Author: Doug

A fellow who dwells upon the Pale Blue Dot who spends his days obsessing over things like Buddhism, KPop music, foreign languages, BSD UNIX and science fiction.

Leave a Reply

