Back From Japan

Hello Dear Readers,

Yesterday my family and I came back from a few weeks in Japan.  My wife and children went to Japan ahead of me, while I went two weeks ago, and then we all flew back together.  Unlike past trips, we decided to save some money on airfare¹ and fly an indirect route through Vancouver via Air Canada.  We saved quite a bit of money, but the extra hop proved to be really tiring especially with a two year-old, so it’s likely we won’t do that again in the near future.

Anyhow, the purpose of this trip was to reconnect with family and friends there, but also to help with some family matters too.  So, unlike past years we didn’t have as many opportunities for sight-seeing as we did before (plus I was there only two weeks instead of three).  Thus, I don’t have as much to share as I would in the past.

However, that’s not to say we didn’t have fun though.  It was great trip and I got to see old, familiar places and some new ones too.  I will be sharing these as soon as pictures get uploaded, etc.  Among the places we visited were Asakusa Temple (a.k.a. Sensoji), Kabuki-za Theatre, a couple of TV Studios and Zojoji Temple.

Like so many trips, I went in expecting one thing, but came out with a totally different experiences, confirmed some things I had felt, and plenty of things to think about it.  I hope to share these too in the coming weeks.

Thanks as always for reading, and hope you enjoy!

P.S.  Thanks to jet-lag it’s 2am here and I am wide awake.

¹ Lack of competition in US airline industry is part of the reason airfare is so expensive compared to flying in and out of the EU to Japan.  We met a family living in Ireland who flew to Japan at the same time we did but almost one-third the price.  :-/

Author: Doug

A fellow who dwells upon the Pale Blue Dot who spends his days obsessing over things like Buddhism, KPop music, foreign languages, BSD UNIX and science fiction.

Leave a Reply

