Uniqlo For The Win

 

Uniqlo is a big clothing company in Japan, and to my surprise has a number of shops in the US. The selection is somewhat similar to Japan, but somewhat different too.  One thing they sell in both countries though is Air-tech shirts. In the US they’re called Airism shirts.

During my last trip to Japan, the summer heat in July was stifling.  I had brought some cotton shirts with me, but they were still too heavy for the summer heat, and I was almost constantly sweating.  Worse, when I went to the company office in Tokyo for a business meeting, I was dying under the heat and heavy clothes.

Air-tech shirts are heavily advertised in Japan because everyone knows Uniqlo there, and with the heat in Japan, understandably they are very popular.  However, Japan shirt sizes are too small for me.  XL shirts in Japan, if sold, are more like L shirts in the US, and so I can’t really wear them.  I really wanted a couple shirts for Japan, though.

So, when I realized there was a Uniqlo shop an hour’s drive from my home, my wife and I went there and sure enough they sold Air-tech/Airism shirts that are American size.  The XL shirts are indeed American sized XL shirts, and only cost about $10.

Since then I have been wearing them frequently.  They definitely work as advertised.  The Pacific Northwest is not nearly as hot as Japan in the summer, but when I used to attend the local Buddhist temple or wear more formal clothes at the office, the Air-tech shirt really helped to keep cool.

So, with Winter coming, I decided to also invest in some Heattech shirts too.  Heattech shirts, as the name implies, are t-shirts that help keep you warm, and similarly to the Airism shirts, can be worn underneath other shirts.  As someone who enjoys wearing t-shirts even in winter, much to my wife’s consternation, the heattech shirts really help.  They are surprisingly light-weight, but really help keep the body warm.

Anyhow, Uniqlo is a great store, and well worth the visit if you have one in your area.  Otherwise, consider getting a couple shirts online instead.

 

Author: Doug

A fellow who dwells upon the Pale Blue Dot who spends his days obsessing over things like Buddhism, KPop music, foreign languages, BSD UNIX and science fiction.

Leave a Reply

