Do or Do Not

Many people probably remember this famous scene from Star Wars Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back:

Recently while reading a translation of the Bendowa, an early essay written by the founder of Soto Zen, Dogen.  This quote really caught my attention:

Those who practice know whether realization is attained or not, just as those who drink water know whether it is hot or cold.

(Pg. 156, Moon In A Dewdrop)

I tend to be the kind of person who likes to overanalyze something, and hesitate until I make a decision, which may never come.  This has always hampered my Buddhist practice long-term as I tend to overthink it and let self-doubt take over.

But this quote (and Yoda’s) are a reminder not to try.  Just do.  In other words, don’t worry about the outcome and such.  Just do it and see first-hand.

All I need to do is just start a Buddhist practice, ideally something that is suitable for my circumstances.  Now if I only I could decide on one first… ;-p

Author: Doug

A fellow who dwells upon the Pale Blue Dot who spends his days obsessing over things like Buddhism, KPop music, foreign languages, BSD UNIX and science fiction.

Leave a Reply

