Happy Birthday, Shakyamuni Buddha!

Hello Dear Readers,

April 8th, according to the Solar Calendar, marks the birth of the historical Buddha, known by Buddhists as Shakyamuni Buddha or “the Buddha of the Shakya clan”.  For folks who follow Chinese, Korean or Vietnamese Buddhism, the Buddha’s birthday falls on different dates according to the lunar calendar.

This video is just a brief overview of the Buddha’s Birthday in the Mahayana tradition and how can appreciate the life of the Buddha.

Enjoy and wishing you warm celebrations!

Doug

P.S. More on the baby Buddha as the lone, world-honored one

Author: Doug

A fellow who dwells upon the Pale Blue Dot who spends his days obsessing over things like Buddhism, KPop music, foreign languages, BSD UNIX and science fiction.

3 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Shakyamuni Buddha!”

  1. Hello Doug,

    You may not really remember me. This is Brandon. We spoke very briefly back in; I want to say Jan or Feb? I sent you a few e-mails and you responded. But, then from that point we just I guess have just living our lives. Hey I wanted to tell you that again I enjoy your YouTube channel and blogs. I finally, after a long purchased the book (The way to Buddhahood). It arrived Monday and I have been so busy I actually have not had time to read it. I am still on the intro. I will have sometime this weekend to sit down and read. You have spoken so highly about the book so, I needed to make sure when the opportunity arose I jumped at the chance to purchase.

    Oh one more thing loved your video on Ordination!

    Hope your having a great Friday!

    Namo A DI DA PHAT

    On Apr 7, 2017 7:09 AM, “All Good Things Must Come To An End” wrote:

    Doug posted: “Hello Dear Readers, April 8th, according to the Solar Calendar, marks the birth of the historical Buddha, known by Buddhists as Shakyamuni Buddha or “the Buddha of the Shakya clan”. For folks who follow Chinese, Korean or Vietnamese Buddhism, the Buddha”

    Like

    1. Hey man, good to hear from you. I have a half-finished email to you from our last conversation. (embarrassed)

      Anyhow, I am glad you found the book, but I hope you find it useful. It really is a bit of a tome, but if you’re comfortable with “basic Buddhism”, this will definitely take you to the next level. Please keep me updated (via email or wherever).

      Like

Leave a Reply

