One Of Those Days

Every once in a while, you have one of those days:

It happens, and it’s frustrating. I found myself having one of these days last week at work, where I was super frustrated by things that happened around me, and really wanted to kick some grass. Then, later when I realized that the thing I was frustrated by was actually a non-issue, and just like that my anger and frustration left and the whole thing seemed silly.

Looking back, that day was a combination of:

  • Lack of sleep (stayed up too late making Magic decks for the new Amonkhet set1)
  • Working from limited information, which gave a skewed understanding of the situation.

I learned a couple useful lessons from this:

  1. Sleep is important. If you are not getting enough sleep, your mind just isn’t performing at its best, and it’s easier to snap at other people.
  2. Don’t assume. Get more information, so you can make an intelligent assessment of the situation. Helps to get more sleep too.

Lesson learned. 🙂

1 I play a sealed pool (sometimes also constructed) with some friends and co-workers regularly during lunch. I have yet to play strangers and such like on Friday Night Magic, but I am not really in a hurry too either.

Author: Doug

A fellow who dwells upon the Pale Blue Dot who spends his days obsessing over things like Buddhism, KPop music, foreign languages, BSD UNIX and science fiction.

Leave a Reply

